Back to all news

Jun 7, 2022

Legacy Ag Credit Awards $20,000 In Scholarships

Legacy Ag Credit awards scholarships to seven college-bound students

SULPHUR SPRINGS, Texas – Legacy Ag Credit recently awarded $20,000 in college scholarships to seven high school seniors from northeast Texas. The college-bound students all excelled in academics and agriculture and live in Legacy Ag Credit’s 10-county lending territory.

“It’s a pleasure to support the next generation of rural leaders as they pursue their goals and dreams,” said Derrell Chapman, Legacy Ag Credit chief executive officer. “Whether these students go on to contribute to the agricultural industry or play leadership roles in their rural communities, a college education will be their springboard to greater things.”

The rural lending cooperative awarded one $5,000 scholarship and six $2,500 scholarships. This is the third year for the Legacy scholarship program.

Following are the recipients and the colleges they plan to attend.

$5,000 scholarship:


Kara Tifft, Sulphur Springs

Como-Pickton High School

Tarleton State University

Animal science/pre-veterinary medicine


$2,500 scholarships:


Harlie Bynum, Gladewater

Sabine High School

Tarleton State University

Agriculture services and development


Meghan Cummins, Winnsboro

Como-Pickton High School

Texas A&M University – Commerce



Cody Ellison, Winnsboro

Winnsboro High School

University of Texas at Tyler

Civil engineering/ag engineering minor


Emma Fenton, Gilmer

Gilmer High School

Texas A&M University

Animal science


Kenna Lane, Sulphur Springs

North Hopkins High School

Tarleton State University

Agricultural education


Ryann Murphy, Gilmer

Harmony High School

Sam Houston State University

Interdisciplinary agriculture


Legacy Ag Credit is a borrower-owned lending co-op that finances agriculture, rural real estate, country homes and agribusiness. It is headquartered in Sulphur Springs and has branch offices in Canton, Gilmer, Longview, Sulphur Springs and Terrell. Legacy is a part of the nationwide Farm Credit System.


For more information, visit